Coffee & Me

Well here goes nothing, I am officially starting my blog (eek!). After months of grappling with the idea, I am finally putting pen to paper or rather fingers to keys. As a CPA, reality tv show junkie, self-proclaimed non-reader and math lover, I wouldn’t consider myself the next Hemingway, but I thought I may as well give it a shot and who knows I may surprise myself!

A couple months ago when I started thinking about my blog, I wanted to try to connect it with my love of coffee and I thought maybe I could write my blog from different coffee shops around Baltimore and anywhere else I travel. This would also help my related (yet probably most likely unattainable because I love LOFT and JCREW too much) quest to become a hipster.

There was one big problem with my blog idea though….I had NO idea what I wanted to write about. I started telling some friends, family and co-workers that I wanted to start a blog and each person I told asked, “well what are you going to write about?”, in which I always answered “well I don’t know yet that’s my problem.” And then I would laugh, as I often do when I don’t know what to say, and the topic got changed.

And then one night I had it! I would write about me. About the things I love. The things I hate. The things that annoy the crap out of me. The things that inspire me. The things that confuse me. The things I want to change. The things I discover. The things I want to learn about. The people I love. The people I hate (maybe not this one actually that could end badly). And I think you get the point. I am going to write about my life and since I couldn’t make it through life or anything of these things without coffee, I came up with the title of my blog…“Coffee &”.

So for this first post, I am going to keep it simple and write about me!

My name is Rachel, I live in Baltimore, MD and am originally from Pittsburgh, PA. Being a diehard Steelers fan living in Baltimore causes some problems, but nothing a mention of 6 super bowl wins or an Antonio Brown touchdown in the last 9 seconds of the Christmas Day game can’t fix!

I graduated from Loyola University and started a career in public accounting the fall after graduation. I sat for and FINALLY passed all four parts of the CPA last May. When I’m not working, I like to run. I’ve run 1 full marathon, 7 half marathons and a few 12 milers, 10 milers, 10k’s and 5k’s. I am currently gearing up to start training for the Chicago Marathon this fall, which I am super excited about!!

Running my first marathon and passing my exams are probably my two greatest accomplishments in life. I have never worked harder or stayed more dedicated to achieve anything else in my life than I did for these, which is why I am so proud of myself for achieving them! (Of course this is all aside from the three layer cake completely covered in sprinkles I made for my best friend Brenna’s 25th birthday…it was a work of art let me tell you!!)

Some other random facts that you might want to know about me, if I’ve kept you interested enough so far that you actually made it to this paragraph: I love coffee (only black. Straight up. No ifs, ands or buts), I am hysterical (well at least I think I am), I can be pretty sassy when needed (or pretty much all of the time), I am extremely impatient, I love the bachelor/bachelorette/bachelor in paradise, I aspire to be an Olympic gymnast (look for me in Tokyo 2020), I snooze my alarm at least 5 times every morning, I love dessert, I am a beginner yogi and I am currently FREAKING OUT about turning 25 (deep breaths Rachel).

So if you haven’t gotten completely bored and made it to the end of this post, THANK YOU!!! I am excited to start this adventure and hopefully you’ll keep reading!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

